I like to breathe. And I don’t like spiders.

I like to breathe.  And I don’t like spiders.

So I’ve been doing this Insanity class at the gym and I am loving it!  It’s a great workout and the instructor is awesome! If you haven’t taken an insanity class, it’s a lot of movement!  Cardio, kickboxing, weights, abs, and lots of other fun stuff!  I’ve had to figure out how to breathe, but I’ve got it under control now!

I have always liked doing fitness classes, but I feel like until now, I was wimping out on the classes.  I was never THAT sore and I never really saw improvement.  I think it’s because as soon as I started to get short of breathe, I would slow myself down.  It wasn’t until I took up running that I realized I needed to learn to breathe better.  For some reason, running with people and chatting while running helped, and so did adding gum to my mouth.  For some reason that helps me remember to breathe out.  It’s not the getting air in that gets me, it’s the getting it out.

Once I figured that out, I was a much happier runner! And so I’m using that in the insanity class and if I focus on breathing out, I can last a lot longer!  Instead of my lungs being the problem, now it’s my muscles instead! Ha!  I haven’t had to stop, and the only modifying I’ve done is when she has us stand on all fours and our heads are down.  I’ve had so much sinus pressure lately that doing that and then standing up causes a LOT of dizziness and pain.  So I modify for when she does that.

And now onto my next topic from the subject line…

The other night, we were doing ab work on the mat, and I tend to close my eyes when it’s REALLY tough!  So I’m laying there, breathing, breathing, breathing, crunching, crunching, crunching- and I feel something tickling my arm.  So immediately I’m trying not to freak out, just trying to do my crunches.  But inside my head I am imagining how big this spider is that is brushing up against my arm, at the same time trying to talk myself out of thinking it’s a spider.  After all, how would a spider get to that part of the room after all the jumping and moving that everyone was doing.

So I opened my eyes to check it out….it was dust! Lol!  It was blowing around from the combination of the fans above me and my movement on the mat! I’m so glad it wasn’t a spider, because my “bug dance” as my husband calls it is not part of the insanity workout, LOL!

When I get home from the gym, I usually immediately go to the couch and get to work on the computer, but tonight I knew I’d be super sore if I did that, so I set up my balance ball with my adjustable tray and this was my workstation tonight:

photo(14)

What is your biggest challenge when working out? And do you like spiders?

6 thoughts on “I like to breathe. And I don’t like spiders.

  1. simply your mom says:

    My biggest work out was when I went with Alison to Zumba! I could not keep up with all those seeminly expert Zumbaers! And spiders….let just say I don’t like them to crawl on me! Good story Beth, keep up the good work…outs! Love you!

    Like

  2. mryjhnsn says:

    I use to have a balance ball for my chair at work and then I rolled over a push pin 😦 You reminded me why I love it and if I ever do get my but in gear… I may use your trick for breathing.

    Like

  3. Erica says:

    Oh my gosh, I was totally freaking out as I read about the “spider”, but was then able to breathe a big sigh of relief. They really gross me out no matter what size they are. We had a nasty spider infestation at an apartment we lived at last year. Ended up moving out after only 6 months. Ick.

    Like

  4. Bonnie says:

    Good for you for being active. I had to laugh with reading about the dust/spider. Too funny because my daughter seriously has to have someone kill even the tiniest of spiders for her, all the while she is standing in the background to make sure you killed it while she dances around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

