Make it Monday: Working with Metal and Beads

I love to do crafts- especially new crafts!  I went for a little walk through Hobby Lobby the other day to find some inspiration for something new.  The first thing I found was the glasses charm and I instantly thought of my sister Kim- she wears glasses and looks so cute in them!  So I thought I should put them on some kind of necklace for her.  I found the pink metal and thought it would look cute on there, so I grabbed that.  Then I figured I needed something to cut the metal with and some beads to add to it so I grabbed the other two items.  Most of it was on sale for 50% off and then I have the app on my phone with the coupon so I received 40% off the last item.  The total was under $7 for everything!

028

Once I opened the metal, I decided it wouldn’t make a good necklace because it is very bendable and I wanted to have swirls in it- one yank from my nephew and it would be completely mis-shapen.  So I just started by putting the glasses on and in the middle and worked out from there.  It was a lot of fun to work with and it took me about 30 minutes to come up with this:

031

The hardest part was making the “P”, but I really love how it turned out!  My sister is working towards getting her own apartment so she can hang this up on her wall!  I hope she likes it!

What new craft have you done lately?

Leave a Reply

