If I can run 5 miles, I can run 13.1 miles

If I can run 5 miles, I can run 13.1 miles.  So I’ve decided to train for a half marathon. It’s a big step, right? But 5 miles is almost half of 13, right? Lol!  I am going to continue to tell myself that as I train.

It’s going to be a tough juggling act for us here with my daughter since my husband is training for an iron man, and now I will be going on much longer runs.  I am pretty sure I will be signing up for the Women Rock Half Marathon in Chicago.  You get a really nice jacket and instead of a medal at the end, you get a necklace!  And there is a lot of pink involved! When I was discussing this with my husband I thought he was going to say no way!  The run also has some very “fit” I guess I will call them, men.  They apparently give you this necklace.  But he understood when he saw the swag.  He said he runs for the swag too 🙂

women rock necklacewomen rock jacket

(Photos taken from Women Rock Chicago website.  Click here to go to their site )

I love the necklace and I think I would probably take it off the chain and put it in my Origami Owl locket.

When I went to the website for the race, I saw that if you register by Mother’s Day, you get another piece of race swag!  I would choose a tank top since that’s what I work out in most.

So now I just need to come up with a training plan and get moving!  (After I get out the sliver in my foot that resulted from Hula class at the gym 😦 )

Maybe we will make a weekend out of it and stay in Chicago.  We did that once when my husband ran the Chicago Marathon and it was fun exploring the city the day before the race and spending a lot of time at the expo.

Do you have a fitness goal right now?

3 thoughts on “If I can run 5 miles, I can run 13.1 miles

    • frugalrunningmama says:

      I don’t make it to the gym every day, but I try to go at least 3 days a week. My training plan has “off” days that I plan to spend doing strength training- or jumping on the trampoline with my daughter. 🙂 It’s much easier to keep it up if you have a friend or two meeting you, and if you sign up for an event that you need to prepare for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

