Happy Birthday to Crayola!

Happy Birthday to you!

Happy Birthday to you!

Happy Birthday to Crayola!

Happy Birthday to you!

Crayola is turning 110!  That’s amazing!  We are big Crayola fans in our house.  We have tried other crayons and they just don’t measure up.  Have you ever heard the phrase “you get what you pay for”? Well, that is totally true with Crayola! I have gotten crayons free using coupons, or cheap at a dollar-type store, but none of them are as good as Crayola.  I am all about being frugal and finding  a deal, but I am also all about good quality and spending money on things that last, instead of buying the same thing over and over again because it’s not a good quality product. I am ok with spending $2 versus$1 if I only have to buy the item once every few months. 

I was coloring with my daughter the other day, and it’s amazing the difference between different brands of crayons.  I noticed that Crayola colors so much smoother, and the color is much deeper than with the waxier crayons.  My daughter notices too, and prefers Crayola crayons because she doesn’t have to press really hard to get the color she wants.

029

Here is my daughter coloring with a Crayola Twistable.  She is a big fan 🙂  Both of her grandmothers are artists, and she is definitely taking after them with her skills.  I think she is pretty talented- yes, I know, I’m her mom and should think that…Lol! She likes every picture to have every color of the rainbow in it, and likes to tell me stories about her drawings.

Dolphin Drawing Kitty drawing

The one on the left is a dolphin she drew on a Crayola dry erase board and the one on the right is a kitty.

A few weeks ago we went to a play date where we brought broken crayons to melt into new crayons and we noticed the difference there too.  The Crayola ones melted nicely and formed new crayons in the mold, where as the non-Crayola crayons didn’t melt as easily and made that “new” crayon really flaky.

So, what does a birthday for Crayola mean? Here is the information they sent me in an email today:

To celebrate their 110th birthday, the 8 original crayons are throwing a birthday bash at the new fun-omenal Crayola Experience, the world’s only interactive Crayola family attraction. Right now, they’re out on a colorful adventure to spread the news, and you’re invited to join the fun!

Visit the Crayola Facebook page and click “enter now” for your chance to be first in line when the Crayola Experience reopens.

The new Crayola Experience features four floors of new interactive exhibits and one-of-a-kind attractions that will bring the magic of color and your child’s creativity to life! The winner will be among the first to experience the fun, along with a three- night, all-expenses paid stay. It’s an experience your kids will never forget – and neither will you!

Good luck! Make sure you follow them on Facebook so you can get the birthday celebration crayons when they are released in May!

This information was provided to me by Crayola.  They are sending me a pack of the new crayons in exchange for this post.  That being said, all opinions are my own and I do sincerely LOVE Crayola.

Leave a Reply

