Running on Pins and Needles

You know that feeling when a body part falls asleep?  It’s like pins and needles poking into you over and over again and it’s awful!  My runs have included a lot of pins and needles lately and it’s frustrating!  At about mile 1.7, my left foot falls asleep.  And it stays asleep and gets worse and worse as I keep running.  When I stop, it’s even worse!  Because then it starts to wake up!

Has this every happened to you?  It’s the same foot I have Plantar Faciitis in, and I have that under control as long as I don’t heel strike and I don’t go barefoot.  But now it’s falling asleep!  It happens no matter what kind of socks I wear.  So I’m turning to Pinterest for some ideas on how to lace my shoes.  I’m not sure if it will help, but I’m ready to try it! If this doesn’t work, I am going to have to go see a chiropractor to see if that can help.  Actually, I know it will help, I’m just trying other options first. My insurance “covers” chiropractic care, but it’s not a lot, so it’s an expensive visit for me.  I totally believe that chiropractic care is the way to go, I just need to make it more affordable.

I met someone who was on crutches not too long ago.  When I asked her what happened, she told me her foot fell asleep and she tried to walk on it.  So an asleep foot during a run makes me nervous! Especially since I am increasing my mileage and have signed up for a half marathon.  I don’t think I could run that far with my foot asleep!

I found this great pinned blog post on tieing your shoes for different foot problems.  I think I will try the one for when your shoes feel too tight. Hopefully that will help!  My last run was BAD!  I ran so much slower than normal! I even walked from mile 1.32 to 1.44 because of a side stitch.  It was hard for me to decide to walk, because I remember when I was doing the Couch to 5K program, that it was always harder to stop and start than it was to just keep going.  But the side stitch was bad, so I walked and stretched my arms over my head for a little bit.

My knee has also been hurting me too, and I think that’s just from increasing my running, so I am taking it easy.  I am not that focused on time and being faster, I just want to run the distance, so if I need to slow down and let my body get used to more miles before I work on being faster.

image

It’s a good thing I know what a good run feels like, because runs like this would probably make me want to stop all together.  But everyone has a bad day, or an off day, and I know it will get better again!  Next week I will be running at the ocean, so maybe if I do a run or two on the beach, I will get my motivation back!

What do you do to get your motivation back after a bad run?

One thought on “Running on Pins and Needles

  1. Kim says:

    Yikes! I’ve never had my feet fall asleep while running! On the stair climber and elliptical it happens every time, though. I hope the chiropractor helps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

