From Running Funk to Running Groove!

I’ve been in a bit of a running funk lately.  I had a few bad runs, wasn’t feeling too great and have had a hard time staying hydrated.  So I arranged to meet a friend for a run on Wednesday.  Our plan was to run outside, around the lake at my gym, while my daughter played in the daycare inside.  But it was raining.  I thought I could run if it was just sprinkling, but then I thought about how my phone could get wet.  And I can’t run without my phone because of the music and the fact that it tracks my distance.  So we ran inside.

This was the first time I ran with this friend, but I knew we would run about the same pace because I can see her runs on Facebook.  We started out pretty strong, under 10 minutes per mile.  Somehow I got into a running groove on the track!  Inside!  That never happens!  I knew I was in a groove when I didn’t like the song that came on, but I didn’t want to interrupt my running my moving my arm over to skip the song.  It is a simple gesture, but I was afraid it would break my groove, so I just got into the song and let it motivate me to run faster.

We finished a little slower than we started, but we had a lot of people to run around.  Because it was raining, there were a lot of people walking on the track.  There were 2 groups of 3 people side by side that were walking so we had to move around them a lot.  It’s a pretty small track, so when it’s busy, it can be rough running.

But we did it!  We ran 3 miles, and I felt good about it!  My plan called for 3, so I was on track for that.  When we started out and were feeling good, we thought we would do 4, but then stopped at 3, which is fine with me!

It feels so good to be back in the groove!

image

Can you tell I was a little happy about my run? Lol!  Excuse my super red face- I get REALLY red when working out!

Have you been in a funk lately?  Or a groove?

2 thoughts on “From Running Funk to Running Groove!

  1. Kim says:

    So funny – I’ve been in a major running funk lately. In fact, I haven’t run in the past 2 weeks because I decided that a small running break might help. I was starting to dread my runs and I never want to hate running!!! I can tell it is helping because I’m in that phase were I’m really wanting to run!! Next week!!!
    Glad you got your groove back!!!

    Like

  2. Bridget says:

    yesterday was rough for me…but i think its cause i tried to use that arm band thing and when id try to switch a song it was just too much extra energy wasted…need to make an actualy playlist…LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

