What a great day today was!

We had a really great day today!  We spent our morning at a local farm called Green Meadows Petting Farm and we had a blast!  Our friends met us there so my daughter had a friend to play with and that was nice.

DSC_0015

My daughter loves cats, so the Kitty Barn is her favorite place to be.  She is in a small space with a bunch of kitty’s walking around and they can’t get away if she comes after them, lol!  She is very gentle with them and just sits and talks to them and pets them.  Sometimes she tries to line them up along the wall and then gets mad when they don’t stay put.

 DSC_0040

Everyone tells me to get her a kitty, but I don’t think that’s in our future.  I am allergic to cats.  Yes, I currently take allergy pills, but I don’t plan on taking them forever, so I don’t necessarily want to be around them.  And we have had cats before, my husband and I have.  And it has not gone well.  Plus I was attacked by a cat once.  It came running down the stairs and jumped straight at my face and dug its claws into my face.  It was very close to my eyes.

And now I’m wondering if she is allergic to them also, because she kept scratching her nose while we were in the kitty barn.

DSC_0084

Good thing she also likes chickens 🙂

We spent 3 hours at the farm, petting and picking up all the animals and enjoying being with our friends.  It was a lot of fun!

Once we got home, I did a bit of cleaning, ran to the store and then our friends came back over for dinner.  Along with another friend.  So we had 3 sets of parents, 4 little girls ages 4 and under, and a teenager.  We sat around and talked, laughed and ate some good food!

It’s so nice to have friends over again.  We had friends over a lot last summer, almost every Sunday.  And then they stopped talking and accepting our invitation.  I’m really not sure what happened.  We watched each others kids on many different occasions and hung out a lot!  The last time we hung out with them was on Halloween when my friends husband yelled at me about walking too fast.  It seemed like there was more to it than that, but they denied there was.  I am still their friend on Facebook, but it was really awkward posting pictures of my daughters first birthday party and they weren’t invited. (Don’t worry, she doesn’t read my blog.) She commented on the album too, saying happy birthday…so awkward for me.  My husband is not a very social guy and has just written them off, not really caring what the real problem was.  But I’m a girl.  It bothers me.  And I want my daughter to grow up knowing the value of friendship, and to be a good friend to people.  So I’m glad to have friends over again.  Makes me feel better :-)And it’s a better example of friends for my daughter to see!

Do you have friends over a lot?  We do it mostly in the summer, when we can grill and the kids can play outside.

2 thoughts on “What a great day today was!

  1. Kim says:

    We tend to go in spurts with having friends over. I love to do it but lately I’m not the best planner. Usually we just tend to do last minute get-togethers and I actually like it that way because it eliminates the stress of planning and makes the entire event just a natural extension of family life!!

    Like

    • frugalrunningmama says:

      This one was kind of last minute. Planned on Friday night :-). Hopefully we will have many more weekends like this!

      Like

Leave a Reply

