Vacation is HERE!

I am quite excited that I will be on a plane soon.  Going on vacation!  And it’s an actual vacation, in the sense that even though my daughter will be with us, she will act like I don’t exist.  Grandma and Grandpa will be there and when Grandma is around, she pretends I am not 🙂  It is sweet, and fantastic!  My mother in law once tried to apologize for this and I told her it was a nice break for me, and it was a welcome break!  She does the same thing when my mom is around.  She is so lucky to have two awesome Grandma’s!  And one awesome Grandpa!  My dad…well, that’s a story for another day…

We are headed to Myrtle Beach.  We have gone there many times! My husband went with his parents almost every year while growing up, and I started going with them when I started dating my husband. We got engaged there, and it was during a walk on the beach there that we decided to start trying to have a baby- so it’s a place filled with great memories!

We rent a house in a private community, with a private parking lot for the beach and it is so great!  We have a kitchen, 2 bathrooms, access to 2 pools and playgrounds and a splash pad that is new this year!  We do not have wifi, but that’s ok, it makes it even more of a vacation.  I can access Facebook and email on my phone, but my phone generally stays in the vacation house unless I might need to call my husband if we are going opposite directions. This happens a few times on vacation.  My mother in law and I may go out shopping, or to the laundromat halfway through the week, or my husband may go golfing or to a movie with his dad.

Last year I was not running on this vacation.  I was injured 😦  The year before was my first year running and I was training for my first 5K, so I ran laps around the private community.  This year I have a 7 mile run scheduled on Sunday.  We will see if I can get that done, lol!  I may run on the beach, or I may do a LOT of laps!

087

I love having a waterproof digital for these trips!

260

My daughter is such a mermaid!

302

And a little joker!

I love to win!

And I am the queen of the air hockey table.  I think I’m undefeated for a few years now 🙂

170

These sunglasses were soon history.  A rogue wave came up and hit us HARD!  I am glad my husband said “WATCH OUT!!!” when he saw it crashing behind me.  I held her tight and jumped to try to get above it.  I am also glad I had the smarts to do that.  We were still tossed upside down and sideways, but it was far less worse than it could have been.  I managed to hold on to her, but I lost my glasses.  It was by far, one of the scariest things that has ever happened to me.  I didn’t take her out that far again, and have already told her that she will be with Daddy if she wants to go out far since he is stronger than me.  A few hours after it happened, she looked at me and said “Mommy, why did the wave do that to us?”

152-001

She just loves her Grandma!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since she is an early riser, we take advantage of that and head down to the beach for a sunrise walk.

aquarium

I think we will go back to the Ripley’s Believe it or Not Aquarium- it was pretty cool!

472

My husband and I get to go out in the water and have some fun alone.

beach alone

463

Riding the waves is so much fun!

myrtle beach waves

Don’t I look so blissful? Lol!  There’s nothing like the ocean, it has to be my favorite vacation place!

What is your favorite vacation spot?

3 thoughts on “Vacation is HERE!

  1. Kimberly says:

    I just love all of your pictures!! I am glad you have your water proof camera also. So the picture of you and the air hockey table, that is a great face! You and I will have to “play” and see who gets the title of Queen!! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

