“When will you be un-gluten-free?”

My daughter’s new favorite question is “when will you be un-gluten-free?”

I was trying to explain to my daughter why we can’t drink from the same cup anymore.  Because she eats a lot of gluten, and since she is only 4 years old, the chances of her contaminating my drink with backwash are high.  So I have been getting her different cups than me and she was really confused about this. And in the car today, she asked for a drink.  I only had my water bottle that I had at work, so I handed it to her and she was worried that I wouldn’t have anything to drink because it would have gluten in it after she drank from the cup.

She has been making me play food at her kitchen and she will say “don’t worry, it’s gluten-free” before she gives me anything.  It’s become a bit of an obsession to her, probably because it’s a bit of an obsession for me right now.  I am still learning what gluten is in and what things I should avoid.

So our conversation today wasn’t that big of a surprise.  I can tell she is trying to figure it all out, just like I am.  And these questions are much better than the normal “why? why? why? why?” I get all day 🙂

AMP: When will you be un-gluten-free?

Me: Never

AMP: Can you just ask the rain to make your body un-gluten-free?

Me: It doesn’t work that way

AMP: Well, just tell your brain then

Me: That won’t help

AMP: Why not?

Me: Because my body just doesn’t like gluten

AMP: Well, I’ll tell it to like gluten.  HEY BELLY, LIKE GLUTEN!

Me: Thanks

AMP: Did that help?

Me: No

AMP: Why does your body not like gluten?

Me: Everyone’s body is different, it’s just the way we are born

AMP: Will I be gluten free someday?

Me: Maybe

AMP: NOOOOOOO!!!!! I WANT TO BE ABLE TO EAT WHATEVER I WANT!

Me: Me too

AMP: Do you like being gluten free?

Me: It’s just something I have to do different

AMP: How long will you be gluten free?

Me: Forever

AMP: Forever is a long time

Me: I know

The whole “I want to be able to eat whatever I want!” statement, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately.  I must have gotten some gluten in me recently and I have been feeling awful! But I don’t want her to think being gluten-free is a horrible thing, no matter how mad I get about being gluten free sometimes.  And I can get mad.  When I’m hungry, and the only junk food in the house is full of gluten…

I get really mad when I think about traveling and not being able to just stop at a drive through for some unhealthy, but quick food.  No more eating on the go unless I am totally prepared.  But then I put on my skinny jeans, and they fall off my waist…and I’m no longer so mad anymore.

I’m 2 months gluten-free now, and I’m getting used to it, and just hope I keep learning, and keep feeling better as I go.

Have you had to make any big lifestyle changes like going gluten-free?

3 thoughts on ““When will you be un-gluten-free?”

  1. Kimberly says:

    Where you go I follow. The hubs and I have been on the road of eating clean. I have been shopping the perimeter. Fruits, veggies (no corn or potatoes), eggs, a little bit of cheese and then meat. I am not one to get out of my comfort zone with food. If it doesn’t look good or sound good, I’m not going to try it. I wish you good luck and I will help in any way possible.

    Like

  2. DebBlee says:

    Wheat free for 9 months – I call it gluten free because, wheat free confuses people. I changed because of a connective tissue disorder- my Dr suggested I try it took about 4/5 months to reaalt notice — I feel about 9x’s better!

    Like

    • frugalrunningmama says:

      I hope by the time I get to 9 months I have less glutened experiences. I was amazed at how good I felt after just a few days so I know it can only get better 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

