Don’t worry! Just RUN!

So a lot of people worry about what they look like when they are running right?  I mean, I do, so let’s be honest- you do too!  But I’m here to tell you don’t worry! Just RUN!

Yes, I like to look cute when I’m running, hence all the cute running gear.  But the way I figure it, if your clothes and accessories are cute, people aren’t looking at your face, right?

262

What do you notice first?  Her cute tutu, right?

016

And here you are wondering what in the world I was doing letting her leave the house in this dress and pants, right?

037

I added this picture just because I find it adorable, lol!  She was so proud of herself for going down this pole all alone!

742

I wish I looked this cool whenever I was running!

My point is, don’t worry about what you look like, just run!  My friend B says she feels like a hippo when she runs and I giggle when I picture a hippo running, with a tutu.  The truth is, she is a cute runner!  And she is working hard to be a good runner and I’m so proud of her!

I am totally guilty of checking my form and making sure to smile when I see people (or photographers at a race), and I was really thinking about that tonight when I was struggling on my run.  I would see a group of people and immediately fix my form, and this happened a lot!  I was a lazy runner tonight.  I had a bit of a rough day and my daughter was sassy….anyways, I told my husband I was going to be running, so when he said “you can go, I’ll put her to bed” I knew I had to go out.  I made it a little over 2 miles, but then I couldn’t do anymore.  I will try again tomorrow 🙂

You’ve seen those pictures on Facebook where it has a picture of a graceful runner looking so perfect, and then someone looking absolutely ridiculous and it says something about how this is how you think you look, and how you really look, right? Do you find yourself looking at people who are running and judging how they look? And thinking less of them because the look on their face is not the prettiest?  When I see a runner, I feel a pride, that I am one of them, and they are like me, and we are both trying hard to reach a goal.

When I am at a race, as a spectator or a participant, the feelings are just indescibable.  You are among a ton of people who share your passion, and when I look at them next to me, in front of me, or behind me, I’m not thinking they look ugly in their moments of running serenity.  I’m thinking “wow, look at all these people who are out here with me, working hard to stay fit and earn that race bling!”

What do you think you look like when you are running?  Or doing any kind of exercise?  Do you try to dress extra cute when you are feeling extra blah?

3 thoughts on “Don’t worry! Just RUN!

  1. Alison says:

    Nice story Bess….so you mean when you kept turning around to look at me in the street you weren’t thinking I looked like a slow turtle? hahaha I think we look best when we have matching shirts and I am on the left and you are on the right. We got 4 beeps the one day don’t forget!

    Like

  2. Kim says:

    I look awful when I run – most of the time my form is OK but my hair is a sweaty mess, my face is usually in some weird grimace and sometimes my shoes clash with my shorts!!! But I’m running!!!

    Like

  3. Bridget says:

    HOW did I miss this post?! Yes I’m constantly worried how I look…and sound when I run. I dont wanna run past someone looking and sounding like a hippo having an asthma attack. 🙂
    But I’m slowly getting better, and its a long road ahead, but at least I know I’m running that road now, and not just sitting there staring at it anymore

    Like

Leave a Reply

