Running: Where do I start?

I’m not sure how I do it, but I seem to convert my friends into runners 🙂  It really makes me happy when they start running and I see their Facebook updated with their runs!  And when they run with me! But, a lot of people wonder when it comes to running: where do I start?

I started running with my a group from my church.  A few times a year, my church has Growth Groups.  They are groups of people who get together for all kinds of reasons.  There are missions trips and there are running groups, and everything in between!  I’ve organized a few and I’ve joined a few.  The running one was one I joined on a whim.  I actually tried to sign up and it was full, so I emailed the leader and they made the group bigger to accomodate more people.  Every week, we got together as a group to run, pray and sometimes play a game or share snacks.  At the end of the group, we all ran a 5K together.  It was a lot of fun!  I made some great friends and found 2 girls who ran my speed so we stuck together and ran together throughout the week when we weren’t meeting as a whole group.

What I remember about the Couch to 5K program is that the first weeks were harder than the last.  The stopping and starting was harder than running non stop.  And for me that’s still true.  If I stop, it’s harder for me to start again.  So when we would look at the upcoming runs, we would think “whoa! we can’t run 20 minutes straight!”  But we did it, and it was so much easier than we thought it would be!

080

Here are my friends and I on our most recent run this past weekend 🙂

If you were to ask me where to start, keeping in mind that I am not a professional, I would say:

1. Download the Couch to 5K program on your phone and do it

2. If you are struggling with a particular week, repeat it

3. Find a race to run at the end of your program and sign up.  (Once you pay, you won’t want to back out, right?)

4. Recruit some friends to run with you

5. If you have any pain at all (besides normal soreness from starting a routine), go get fitted for shoes.  Go to a store that knows what they are talking about and can analyze your running gait

6. Stick with it!  Some weeks it will get hard!  You will want to give up and just sit down.  So sit down, but get back up and keep going!

7. Be PROUD of yourself!

8. BRAG about it!  Lol!  I know people probably get tired of seeing me post about running, but maybe that’s what convinced my friends….lol!  I have one that needs some more convincing right now….

Do you have tips for beginning runners? What got you started and what keeps you going?

3 thoughts on “Running: Where do I start?

  1. Kimberly says:

    Start slow. If you are active then you can do more. If you really are starting from the couch like I did, then go slow!! Keep in mind when you are out there, running, walking you are lapping everyone else that is on that couch still. So be proud that your moving!!

    Like

  2. Bridget says:

    Find awesome friends To surround your self with that will motivate and push you!
    I had a hard time with the couch to 5k…too much thinking. First I ran for a whole song on my iPhone, then 2 whole songs.,..each time
    I went out I went a little further and continue to do so

    Like

Leave a Reply

