For the LOVE of camping

We went camping this weekend, and I can’t tell you how many times I thought “for the LOVE of camping!” while we were there.  I mean I do love camping, I think…

First I have to pack nice clean clothes, and not that many of them, so I don’t have many choices while there…then I have to pack my kids clothes, and not that many again, but one extra outfit for her since she likes to get dirty…then I have to pack food, some for me, but also some for my husband and daughter.  Then we drive several hours there, and have to unpack the car and set up the tent, and the sleeping bags, and the air mattress…And everything gets dirty, and has to be packed back up into the car at the end…covered in dirt…

But then we get to have fun!  Hiking, and taking pictures, and campfires!

DSC_0120

DSC_0218

DSC_0446

DSC_0414

We managed to go on a few hikes, but my daughter was tiring easily!  She wanted to make new friends, but there weren’t any close enough to play with.  And it wasn’t quite hot enough to swim at the beach, as it was in the low 70’s.  Plus, sometime overnight on Friday, someone got into our cooler and stole some food!  They took the hot dogs that were gluten free, the 4 Hershey’s bars we had for s’mores, AND my very expensive, unopened bag of gluten free chocolate covered pretzels!!!!  At first, my husband thought he misplaced the chocolate.  But then he asked where the hot dogs were and we realized those were missing.  And then I remembered that my pretzels were in the cooler so they wouldn’t melt…and then I got MAD!  I mean, come on!  They left the Pepsi, and took the food.  My gluten free chocolate!!!  Once I got over my anger (I’m really not over it though), I realized how creepy it was that someone was walking around on our campsite at night…with a flashlight..stealing things…do you think I slept the next night?  Nope!  Every noise I heard was another person coming to take something else.  Although we locked it all up the next night…

DSC_0214

And then there was the bugs.  How do you like this bug brush?  Lol!  I’ve never seen anything like that before at a campground!  It was a considerate gesture, and also a much needed resource.  Especially since my daughter decided to clean her toothpaste out of the sink with her toothbrush, and then put it back in her mouth. Yuck!

DSC_0596

And the mosquitos!  See that pink band?  It’s a bug band, that is meant to repel bugs.  Do you know how many bug bites I have around that ankle?  15!  15 mosquito bites on one ankle! I don’t know why they love me so much, but they swarm around me!  My husband got a few bites, but they lasted about 10 minutes and then left.  He looked at my foot and told me it was swollen, and I said no, it’s just bug bites! And I have them on my stomach and my back and my arms and every other part of my body!

DSC_0542

DSC_0134

But she sure loves to play at the beach!  She was pretending she was stuck and she wanted us to tickle her out!

So do I love camping anymore?  I’m not so sure.  I think I might like it in a cabin better 🙂  My husband agrees, so that might be the direction we move in for next year….

Do you like to camp?

2 thoughts on “For the LOVE of camping

    • frugalrunningmama says:

      We used to backpack through the mountains, so driving to our campground was an upgrade and I think we are ready for the next one!

      Like

Leave a Reply

