Yoga with a Praying Mantis

On our way home from school today we found a praying mantis!  We were so excited!  It was in our neighbors driveway and I knew they would be home soon, so we scooped it up in a bucket and brought it to our backyard where it wouldn’t get run over by a car!

I ran in the house to grab something to transport it in and when I came back out, it had rolled over.

Belle: I just started talking to it and it rolled over! But it’s not dead, it’s just resting!

My daughter LOVES bugs!  She will pick up almost any bug, but she didn’t want to pick up the praying mantis that she named Rainbow.  She did want to talk and play with it though.  She was asking me why it was posing like that so I told her it was doing yoga.  She joined right in of course!

036

She was also talking to it and trying to get it to respond.

Me: What do you think it’s name is?

Belle: I don’t know

Me: Why don’t you ask it what it’s name is?

Belle: Because it doesn’t speak our language!

033

This picture cracks me up because it looks like the praying mantis is telling her a story about a bird that almost got it “It was THIS big!” Lol!

030

It was a pretty cute little creature and she decided it’s name was Rainbow and that it was a girl.  We left it out on the pumpkin and went in for lunch and it was gone when we went back out.  We’ve never encountered a praying mantis before so this was pretty cool!

043

Have you ever had the chance to do yoga with a praying mantis? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Yoga with a Praying Mantis

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh my gosh. This is so great! I need better words, I know. I can only imagine what Belle is going to tell her kids about you. I know a very long way away. You are such a fun mommy!! I hope she remembers that for years and years!!

    Like

  2. Bridget says:

    is it weird that I’m jealous I missed this?
    that is so cute…makes me think of Mantis from Kung fu panda….I would have totally been talking to it with her, cause im weird and think animals listen 😉 LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

