Coming out of the gluten haze

For years, I kept thinking “this is the doctors appointment that will change everything. This is when they will finally figure out what is wrong with me, and then life will get better.” Only it took over 3 years for that aha moment to come. And every time I was at the doctor, I would leave disappointed once again.  “You have the flu” they would tell me.  Every month.  The vomiting, the heartburn, the extreme fatigue…

And now that I am out of the gluten haze, I am never going back!

It’s such a relief to not feel so sick all the time. Do you know what it’s like to feel nauseous all day long? Every day? It’s not fun. And I am so glad that feeling is gone! And all the other weird-to-me symptoms too. It’s like a huge weight off my shoulders!

Yes, I miss the food. Some days are worse than others. Like when I’ve had a really long day and I just want something quick and not cooked by me-that’s difficult. It has to be from somewhere I can trust. And it’s hard to try new places that say they have gluten free options. There are so many ways it can be contaminated- especially if the wait staff don’t really understand what gluten free means. Or if they think it’s just a “diet” that crazy person at the table is on :-(.

This is not a diet, I assure you. This is a lifestyle change. And it’s not one I will “cheat” on. Sure, I’ve thought about it. Clear a few days of everything I have to do, just for one bite of a toasted bagel smothered in cream cheese? But that thought lasts for a few seconds before I think of the gluten haze.

It’s like driving out of a foggy stretch. It ends and you can just see what you couldn’t before. That putting this poisonous-to-me substance in my body will cause so many horrible side effects!

Sometimes I have dreams where I eat gluten.  I wake up thinking what was I thinking???  In the dream, I think, it’s only a bite, and it will taste sooooo good!  Or, sometimes in the dream, it’s a total accident and when I realize it I panic and wake up.

I didn’t take any intentional before and after pictures, but whenever I see this picture (which I love), I think, holy cow was I swollen! This was June of 2012, almost a year after I had my gall bladder out and all my crazy symptoms were coming back.

birthday 2012

This was June this year, after being gluten free for 2 weeks:

birthday 2013 2birthday 2013

Can you see the difference?

This is July of 2013, about 1.5 months gluten free:

swim 2013

August 2013, 2.5 months later:

august 2013

Yes, I was exercising, but mostly, it’s the look of being swollen and bloated that I noticed went away in pictures.

I saw someone recently that I haven’t seen in awhile and they said “wow, you’ve lost a lot of weight” and then they back pedaled and said “I mean, you weren’t overweight, but I can see in your face that you’ve lost weight!” Lol!  I knew what they were saying, and I said thanks to getting rid of gluten and all the running I do 🙂

Have you made a lifestyle change like this that you’ve seen make a huge difference in your life?

Leave a Reply

