Getting excited for baby girl!

We are getting excited for baby girl to arrive!  We spent a good amount of time in the basement going through what we have. We had gotten rid of a ton of stuff this past summer, so we wanted to take stock and make a list of what we need.

I’ve had a hard time getting too excited since this pregnancy has been so rough!  I don’t seem to remember it being this difficult with my daughter 🙂  But then again, I’ve been sleep deprived for over 4 years now so who knows! The morning sickness lasted a little past 12 weeks but I did pick up some lozenges that helped!

Then I started working full time and the swelling of my feet started.  One was swelling more than the other.  So the doctor did an ultrasound on that leg to make sure I didn’t have a blood clot.

And then I fell on the ice.

And the pain and discomfort of this baby growing! Oh my gosh!  If I had been further along I would have thought I was in labor last weekend!

Add in this horribly cold winter, and a very stir crazy 4 year old, and it’s been a rough few months!

Fortunately, I have picked up a long term position as a guidance counselor so I am at the same school 4 days a week.  And with this schedule, I can take Friday’s off to recover a little bit.  And this past Friday we had some good weather!  And by good, I mean the wind died down a bit and the sun was shining a little bit.  Enough to go to the park!

DSC_0368-001

I went to the park alone while my daughter was at school.  I was hoping to get some good maternity pictures of myself, but there was more snow than I was expecting!  I did get a few before my Crocs (definitely NOT proper footwear for walking in the snow) filled with snow! But I have been finding relief with wearing these.  My feet hurt less and the swelling is down.

DSC_0380-001

Then when I picked up my daughter, I told her if she let me rest, I would take her to the park.  And she did!  Surprisingly!

DSC_0400-001

DSC_0418

We were the only ones there and she kept wishing some other kids would show up so she could make a new friend.  That was exciting to hear for me because for the longest time, she was so shy she wouldn’t play with them anyways!

DSC_0463

I really love this picture of the two of us!  I wish I had taken my sunglasses off, but I do wear them pretty much nonstop, so I didn’t think to do that.

DSC_0464-001

She loves to give her sister kisses.  And hugs.  She always kisses me and hugs me, then kisses the baby and then hugs the baby.  It’s really sweet.

We had a really good day and it was pretty relaxing for me. I really needed a good, relaxing day.  I love my job, it’s just very energy consuming for a normal person, then add in being pregnant…lol!

And then today I had to go do the 3 hour glucose test.  I failed the 1 hour, by 30 points 😦  I was really surprised, and irritated about it.  I still am irritated.  Especially after today’s test.  It was awful!  I didn’t know they wouldn’t let me drink water during the 3 hours.  I drink water ALL DAY LONG! So to give me that amount of sugar and not let me drink water is like torture.  I could tell the woman taking my blood felt bad for me.  She let me sit in a separate waiting room where there was a TV and no one else.  And the chairs were more comfortable.

At the second blood draw, she said she didn’t want to stick me anymore because she couldn’t find my veins.  I told her that’s because I wasn’t drinking water.  That stick hurt!  It stung for over an hour!  So for the third stick, we switched arms.  She asked how I was doing.  I told her I had heartburn and she asked if I threw up.  I hadn’t, but I sure felt like I would.

Luckily, my friends were on Facebook to chat with on my iPad while I was waiting.  And by chat, I mean I complained about the experience and they told me how sorry they felt for me 🙂

Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to exercise.  I would love to go for a run, but between our schedule and my extreme discomfort, it just hasn’t been possible.  I do get in a lot of walking at work- people have commented that I don’t need to go to the gym after all the running around I do there, so at least I’m moving still.

And I have a great item coming for review!  A Motherload Maternity Support Band from Body after Baby!  I can’t wait to try it out!  I’m definitely getting to the point of needing some extra support.

  Body After Baby Mom Ambassador

How have you been?

Leave a Reply

