First Day of School Excitement

We are 2 days from the first day of school and we are excited!  It’s not only the first day for my daughter, but it’s my first day too!  I’m pretty excited to be starting a school year as a school counselor again!  I haven’t started a year since 2010 when Annabelle was born and I went back to work.  I’ve been home with her since then, up until this past January when I went back to work as a substitute teacher- which led to this position 🙂

We went back to school  shopping a few weeks ago for supplies so my daughter and I are all set with that.  Then we went school clothes shopping, but not to any big chain store.  We went to our favorite children’s resale shop for her, and St. Vincent’s for me.  She picked out a few pieces. I don’t bother trying to pick out “outfits” for her, because she never wears actual outfits.

I picked out outfits for myself though 🙂 I needed some clothes that fit nice until I can fit back into my pre-pregnancy clothes.  And I needed some more professional clothes.  When I was a substitute, I was pregnant, so I was wearing maternity clothes. Before that, I was an at home mom, so I didn’t have many cute, yet professional, clothes.

photo-3H

ere is one of my outfits and I was going to wear it on the first day, but we are wearing our school shirts that day, so I might save this for day 2 🙂

Last week was my first week back to work and it went well. I had no problems dropping Evelyn off at daycare and I almost felt bad that I wasn’t crying when I left.  I think it was easier to drop her off than it was the first time around with Annabelle.  I really enjoy my job and the people I work with, and that helps me leave her for the day.

Unfortunately, Evelyn picked up some germs on the first day of daycare and has been stuffed up and coughing ever since!  And I feel awful too!  My ear, my throat, my head…it all hurts!  We’ve been resting as much as possible, and it’s helping us both.  Luckily we have a four day weekend before we go back again.

Annabelle will be in Kindergarten and she will be attending my school..this will be an interesting year… 🙂

Do you have kiddos starting school?  Are you as excited as we are?

Leave a Reply

