Sewing adventures

I’ve been sewing.  A lot.  I was given a sewing machine last Christmas by my mother in law.  I wanted one.  Mainly so I could make things like poodle skirts for school events.  But it turned into so much more!

I started making clothes, and then blankets, and bags, and baskets….and now the people at Joann Fabric know me.  They may see me every week.  Well…ok, they do… I just LOVE the fabric!  I love to walk up and down the aisles and admire it and feel it.  I guess I do that a lot because Evelyn told me the other day that she was going to touch my material in my sewing area.

I made a lot of Christmas gifts this year.  8 blankets.  3 purses.  1 robe.  3 baskets.  1 hat.  1 stocking.  1 box.  1 chapstick holder.  2 coasters.  1 bag.  4 Pokemon backpacks.

And it hasn’t stopped.  I was set back for a few days with my injury.  But I got back into it quickly and am LOVING the new machine I got for Christmas.

img_7797

I upgraded my machine for Christmas.  The other one busted a few months back.  I think I used it to death….

Anyways- I was sending my dads blanket late because of my back injury, so I figured I would make my sister something who’s birthday is in January.  I decided she needed a mermaid tail blanket.  So I went looking on Pinterest and found a free pattern from Sew Much Ado.  You can find the pattern here: Adult Mermaid Tail

Annabelle helped me find material and I started cutting.  Then I realized it should all be fleece, so I cut fleece to line it all with.  So my first one was made harder by me not thinking…

img_7808

As you can see in the picture, I had the tutorial open on the ipad as I was trying to figure out how to attach the top.  It was tricky but I managed:

img_7809

And it turned out pretty cool!

img_7812

And of course Evelyn was up, so she had to test it out:

img_7814

And then I had to work on some for the girls.  I started working on Annabelles first and had it done in no time!  This time I used fleece only so I didn’t have to line it.

img_7820

She loves it and has been “walking round the house with her feet in the fins.  I made one for Evelyn but she hasn’t let me take a picture of her in it properly.

Now Annabelle wants me to make one of her friends a matching one…good thing I love to sew!!

 

One thought on “Sewing adventures

Leave a Reply

